Too Busy for a Title

Reader:  Mr. H.G. I have a question, could you show or explain to me how your process works, in terms of digital painting? I saw how you layout ideas via sketch
book, but not the actual step by step of how the work is made.

H.G Fields: Ah, no problem!
Today I’ll take run you through my process for Counter Culture #2. It’s been finished for a few months now so, “why not?”

Is what I would say, if I did receive that sort of feedback. Never the less, I will give you the rundown anyway.

Step 1.
Source your visual reference. In this case, I chose Tiepolo’s – Triumph of Zephyr and Flora

The Triumph of Zephyr and Flora

Apart from the creator of this original, other factors which influenced my decision were; The composition, which I found ideal for it’s dream like and/or celestial quality. The feeling of being so high, you’re up in the clouds.

The interaction not only between the main subjects, Flora and Zephyr but also between the cherubins above. Also I got a feeling from all of the figures that they were rather carefree naturists, similar to those from the hippie movement which my work is supposed to reflect.

With some changes in colour I would imagine having a trippy, psychadelic scene where everyone is just getting stoned out of their minds and just seeing things, whilst existing in their own….

Interestingly enough, two other items that got my attention was the cherub sorting out some herbs at the bottom as well as the wreath held high by Zephyr.

  Step 2.

Once I’ve identified the various aspects of the image that I would like to transcribe into the modern day context, I do a quick mock up sketch of the image, like so:

Rough Sketch

As you can see, I don’t waste too much time with putting in serious details for the line work. Just enough for me to understand what’s going on, for afterwards when I put my first wash on.  With my process I often try to follow the steps similarly to if I were painting with oils.


Step 3.
First Colour wash and commence blocking.

Generally speaking, I usually like to use shades of brown when working on paintings/illustrations with figures (figures = people, not to be confused with numbers). Would anyone want to hazard a guess why  that may be?

Wash and Block

Step 4.

Next in, we lay another wash.

Setting The Tone

Colouring Like a Bauss

Finalmente

Because this isn’t actually a tutorial and there are loads of files that lead up to the end result. I’ll just cut to the chase.

Leave a Reply

