I Used to Buy My Faith In Worship

Don’t be afraid, the illustrations will be up on Sunday, this quick post is to prep you for what is to come.

Funny that I’d seen this article today, (which I think is absolute poppycock) because of the article and illustrations I had planned for this weekend’s post.

Read this article before you read the upcoming post you’ll be able to see the connections et al.

“I voted for Barack because he was black. ‘Cuz that’s why other folks vote for other people — because they look like them,” he told Ebony magazine. He then proceeded to use the n-word several times, claiming Obama wasn’t scary enough and hoped he would be scarier during the next four years because he wouldn’t have to worry about re-election. ” – according to Yahoo.

The actual link is here – http://news.yahoo.com/samuel-l-jackson-brings-back-racism-213200219.html

I’ve always been a fan of Sammy Jackson, from small almost insignificant roles like in Jurassic Park, brilliant Spike Lee films where he plays a wiley crack head in Jungle Fever and obviously other such classics as Pulp Fiction. The list goes on really.

And if that snippet is anything to go by, I can’t see what all of the fuss is about. It’s human nature that we tend to gravitate, like or follow those who we feel we can identify with, if even just because of appearence.
It’s not a great thing I suppose but I’m sure if you enter a room full of people you don’t know, you will most likely start by going to the group of people who look most like you.

For your general information though, my work is continuing to explore the wog image and use of the word. The offensive and negative connotations it carries with it mostly in European countries and Australia etc. Some brief history and interesting articles I’ve come across over time.

As you know by now I’ve been using it quite casually, I hope I haven’t offended anyone and scared them away. If you know me you’ll obviously understand that I mean nothing by it, being one myself. Trying to desensitise and diffuse it in a very similar way that blacks before me, have with the word, “nigger” in popular culture over the last 30 or so odd years. A word which I, myself still avoid using regularly.

It’d be nice if we could forget race existed and just all got along, but you know that isn’t going to happen overnight.

I listened to this interview with ex-Liverpool premeriship footballer, who discusses race with two lads from – http://www.talksport.co.uk/radio/press-pass/blog/2012-02-12/barnes-racism-within-football-not-being-dealt-properly

His points are clear and I think he actually has the right idea.

I will extrapolate as I said on the next post, so look out on Sunday night.

I’d like to say that the website is nearly up and running but truth be told, I’ve hit a few a snags along the way, so next time I tell you lot that it’s soon up, I guarantee it will be soon up.

H.G. Fields

Leave a Reply

