De Facto, I Like Broomstick Girls.

During the course of this late morning I was doing a little bit of art study and the lot.

N.B. Broomstick girl would usually be in reference to a boney lass.

While doing my rounds on the web, I checked my favourite place for news. Yup, you guessed it…The Guardian.

Well I came across this in the Arts & Culture section and almost instantly became absolutely excited!

What if the old masters’ nudes were today’s skinny models?

– And no, not that kind of excitement. Though I do tend to be a bit partial towards the slim and trim.

No, no.

The reason I was so excited seeing this is because four years ago I had a similar idea….

So maybe I should feel a bit salty for not gaining any kind of recognition, since I had the idea so long ago but no, not at all. I didn’t really go into great depth nor did I continue pursue such study.

Fact is, I think the concept is one generally of most intrigue to me. Last September I posted a link – Perceptions of beauty in Renaissance art (written by Neil Haughton) and through looking at their idea of beauty and strength in the 1400’s, it’s interesting to see what factors sculpt or shape our interests, from an aesthetic stand point.

And to see the contrasting interests so to speak. For example:

In figure 1. we see the original Botticelli’s, ‘Birth of Venus’

Fig.1 Birth of Venus

As it stands Botticelli’s Venus is actually not that thick to begin with, by Italian Renaissance nudes standards. Comparatively speaking, to most renaissance nudes she’s actually quite slim. But still appears to be well-built proportionally.

Fig. 2 We are met with the transcribed version by Italian artist Anna Utopia Giordano…

Fig. 2 "Birth of Venus"

After transcription however, through tinkering with waistline on the computer as you can see, Venus’ figure has become immensely different.

You can also go here to see the other works that were refashioned to fit the paradigm of the modern-day – http://www.annautopiagiordano.it/venus-ita.html Which I would highly recommend you have a look at. Some would have them called grotesque or emaciated, I would first have to say that I really don’t find them offensive, on the contrary not bad at all. At the end of the day it does come down to the beholder’s perception.

Now in reference to my own contribution to my similar study –

Counter Culture #1 - Process In Short

In fig. 1 – That was out of one of my many sketchbooks, while I was studying how to go about reimagining the original, ‘Allegory with Venus and Time’. As you see there I while I was brainstorming ideas of how to bring Venus from that era to this day, the first thing that actually came to mind was how we see beauty today vs how they saw it in the past. I also thought, if the media; magazines, film and popular music was anything to go by, slim is definitely in.

Though one could hardly call the Tiepolo’s Venus (fig. 3) fat, she definitely has some thickness. As a result, in the sketches you’ll see that I had sized down the figure to more bulimic or anorexic proportions. However I found that it was a bit too much bone for me. So after scaling up a little bit, I finally had a general idea in my head, of how I’d perhaps like to portray Venus.

One of the main reasons this piece of work took so long for me to complete is, largely to do with the fact that I couldn’t find the right figure to fit the mould I had ultimately set in mind for Venus. But as time went by, the work evolved and I eventually had the good fortune to meet someone who could easily fit the bill. I was therefore able to flesh out a decent size (as seen in fig. 4) that I found personally, quite attractive.

Update: I forgot to post a tune, here’s a favourite of mine, a reggae tune from the late Dennis Brown.

I like the petite and slender, heh. Thus that’s they type I would probably continue to portray. Just a preference really. Out with the old and in with the contemporary practices, the way of the galaxy I suppose.

Irie folks,

H.G. Fields.

One thought on “De Facto, I Like Broomstick Girls.

Leave a Reply

