A Short Journey Back In Time..

A Short Journey Back to the Land of Look Behind…

Mind is dwindling in the cusp of nostalgia you might say.

That is to say, we have come a long way.

Before we commence today’s main event or article, I have an illustration for you lot.

This is part of the 4/20 project; personification. Details of such can be found here of course.

Today we’re met with the Space Cadet, one who is always here but the mind is often absent of home.

Stages V. and VI. "Th- this Helmet is like a Bong Chamber..."

I found when I reached this point last night, with stage V – I thought I was closed to finished but not fully satisfied to that point. It was a bit empty and unbalanced I thought. So to give it more depth, I put the Earth in the background and constructed a building entirely inspired by The Jetsons architecture. As a matter of fact the Earth featuring in stage VI was ripped directly from a print screen shot of the intro from the very intro in the iconic futurist, Hannah Barbara production.

Fixed the eyes, added some light yellow and a bit of white to give them some gradient. Added some detail to the uniform and added two tarnished buttons from the Can of Abyss Soup. I was considering adding a blow torch to incinerate the herb in the bowl attached to the helmet but decided against it, a little bit concerned about crowding the composition like a wisdom tooth does in one’s mouth.

And now for our feature presentation.

Land Of Look Behind

I believe I came across this documentary around this time 4 years ago. I started off on my way growing a crown of dreads and I was home on Easter break. If my memory serves me even better; I was probably in the final days of my trip home when I had come across this documentary.

I really don’t need to go into too much detail, have a look at the trailer. Hopefully you will go on to watch the full film. Hopefully you will have a different perspective from what you might have had before.

This, for the record is by far, the single most influential piece of film I’ve watched thus far in mi life. The footage is essentially visual narration, as it’s devoid of particular narrator and does not have an air of intrusiveness.

The film may appear as just a little voyeuristic in nature at times, well barring the scenes of actual interviews and concert scenes.

The first interview with the rasta man in the hills and the rastafari (Nyabingi) drummers.
Then the transition from country to the city; Gregory Isaacs interview which is hard to follow at the best of times. These parts of the film I rate highly, also of course the coverage of Bob Marley’s funeral service as well as burial, the lead up and the inbetween.

It’s hard to pick a favourite scene in this documentary still though.

However, if I were to choose then I would most likely have to go with the final scenes towards the end when we’re back up in the Cockpit country of Jamaica; ‘Hansel Goes Home’ – Listening to a combination of Bob’s tunes, ‘Sun is Shining’ , ‘Running Away’ and ‘Crisis.’ On top of that the running commentary through the monologues of both; the conscious lad listening to the Marley tracks in no particular order and then that of the sleepy youth who rambles on about his brother being a singer too. He goes on and alleges that he is a singer and his brother a singer too. Dubbing himself as the second Bob Marley he says, “My name is Richard Marley.’

Sun is Shining has a rather unique sound and presence in this part of the film. With the other youth there calmly scanting to the tune and minding his compatriot. I couldn’t guess how others may feel or react to this scene but for me it feels as involving as it does revealing. This all takes place not too long after Bob’s passing, and memory of the funeral fresh in their minds. Listening to the young man speak of Bob Marley in such great revere.

Unfortunately on youtube the most moving quote is missing as it was cut short at the end. This almost detracts from the film completely. However, for your benefit I’ve taken a screen shot. Let the final track play a little before you give the final quote a bligh.


I think this meant a lot to me because I felt like I was at the beginning of some mysterious journey, which in some respect I suppose I was.

I think the reason I continued to watch this over and over is due to nostalgia and slight feelings of homesickness. I was away in foreign i.e. London, away from my home in the tropics the feeling of nostalgia was cast upon me. Despite even the fact that film surrounds a different island with a different people, a different culture and allas a much different time. I felt as though I was it, or it was me. I wanted to be there…

At this stage now four years on, I still watch this for ideas, knowledge and inspiration. I’ve been there and seen things differently since then. Now I watch to take me back four years where this was all new to me, to rekindle that feeling that nostalgia of homesickness of my second home.

My ideas of identity and the like have been somehow intrinsically linked from there on in.

Linked to what?

Linked to the mystery to come…

Irie, Folks

H.G. Fields.

Leave a Reply

