Change of Plan: Change of Program

Change of plan already it seems. Since my last post, I’ve gotten my hands on sketchbook pro. If you haven’t heard of it before, it’s a digital sketching/painting program.
Linework

Line work

Truth be told, I’m actually starting to like Sketchbook Pro quite a bit. At least in terms of it’s painting engine. Where interface/workspace and editing options are concerned, I still prefer using PS by miles.

For me, switching digital art programs can usually be a lengthy and often times, arduous process. Diversifying 

Colour Application; Background

Colour Application; Background

Thus I shan’t have time to focus on that ranting I promised yesterday. I might save the ranting for next month when I don’t have access to my computer.

Maybe you can find a silver lining in the fact that I’ve got some illustrative progress on display.

Alphonse Mucha’s, Vin des Incas [Wine of the Incas]
1897

Alphonse’s Nouveau pharmaceutical poster is the basis of this test piece which I’m transcribing. I might consider using this as a new banner for this blog. 

Colour Blocking

Colour Blocking

I’m still in the business of finding the flower stamen concept a fixed home in an illustration. So far this one feels like it could be a fit – what I may have to do is scale down the flower and filament girl – but in any event apart from issues of composition I might vary the colouring method as I continue to learn to the different facets of Sketchbook Pro.

Irie folks,

Keep Blazing and Stay Amazing!

Leave a Reply

