Sociopath

Sociopath

I’d finished watching True Detective several days ago, I took my time with that one. I enjoyed the series thoroughly and moreover the discourse between the two detectives Marty and Rust.

This is the initial direction in which this piece was going. Glad I changed direction to be quite honest.

This is the initial direction in which this piece was going. Glad I changed direction to be quite honest.

There’s a scene in the third episode where the detectives find themselves at a Revival Ministry in the midst of an investigagation – the dialogue between the two men, particularly resonated with me.

Rust

What do you think the average IQ of this group is, huh?

Marty

Can you see Texas up there on your high horse? What do you know about these people?

Rust

Just observation and deduction.
I see a propensity for obesity, poverty, a yen for fairy tales, folks putting what few bucks they do have into little, wicker baskets being passed around.
I think it’s safe to say that nobody here is gonna be splitting the atom, Marty.

Marty

You see that? Your fucking attitude.
Not everybody wants to sit alone in a empty room beating off to murder manuals.
Some folks enjoy community, the common good.

Rust

Yeah? Well, if the common good has got to make up fairy tales, then it’s not good for anybody.

Marty

Your sorrows pin you to this place.
They divide you from what your heart knows, and there are a lot of good hearts out there.
I’m looking out there.
I’m seeing a lot of good hearts out there.
I see a lot of joy out there.
I mean, can you imagine if people didn’t believe, what things they’d get up to?

Rust

Exact same thing they do now, just out in the open.

Marty

Bullshit.
It’d be a fucking freak show of murder and debauchery, and you know it.

Rust

If the only thing keeping a person decent is the expectation of divine reward, then, brother, that person is a piece of shit, and I’d like to get as many of them out in the open as possible.

Marty

I guess your judgement is infallible piece-of-shit-wise.

Do you think that notebook is a stone tablet?

Rust

What’s it say about life, hmm, you got to get together, tell yourself stories that violate every law of the universe just to get through the goddamn day? No.
What’s that say about your reality, Marty?

Marty

When you get to talking like this, you sound panicked.
You figure it’s all a scam, huh, all them folks?

Rust

Mm-hmm.

Marty

They just wrong?

Rust

Oh, yeah.

Been that way since one monkey looked at the sun and told the other monkey, “He said for you to give me your fucking share.”

People so goddamn frail they’d rather put a coin in a wishing well than buy dinner.

Transference of fear and self-loathing to an authoritarian vessel.

It’s catharsis.

He absorbs their dread with his narrative.
Because of this, he’s effective in proportion to the amount of certainty he can project.

Certain linguistic anthropologists think that religion is a language virus that rewrites pathways in the brain, dulls critical thinking.

Marty

Well, I don’t use $10 words as much as you, but for a guy who sees no point in existence, you sure fret about it an awful lot, and you still sound panicked.

Rust

At least I’m not racing to a red light.

Jones [work in progress]

 I’m developing some ideas inspired in part by this dialogue, as well as cult worship and organised religion.

I was thinking recently that I’m in the wrong profession, if I want a following and a regular, large cash flow  – instead of an artist, I should have opted to be some crazy evangelical preacher.

I’ve had this tune pretty much on repeat since I was introduced to it several days ago. This is what’s been playing, for the majority of the time that I’ve worked on today’s featured artwork.

Irie folks,

Keep Blazing 

And 

Stay Amazing!

2 thoughts on “People Incapable of Guilt, Usually Do Have a Good Time

  1. I’m aware of this show but have never watched it. HBO? Is it based on the paper medium? I seem to recall seeing the mags while waiting in doctors office.

Leave a Reply

